Eat Mindfully to Achieve Better Health

I would like to share two great resources about eating more mindfully.  When I first came across the term, I thought, “What, I don’t understand.”  How many times do you eat your meals in a rush?  You are running out the door in the morning and grab a donut, bagel, or some other quick item to eat.  Lunch is usually quick and may even be at your desk while working.  Dinner might look like this – get home from work, take care of kids, prepare dinner, take care of kids, clean up before going to bed, go to bed.   All of these scenarios are rushed and lack mindfulness.

To help understand the concept of eating more mindfully, Harvard nutritionist Dr. Lilian Cheung shares from a book she co-wrote with Nobel Peace Prize nominee Thich Nhat Hanh ‘Savor: Mindful Eating, Mindful Life’ about how being more mindful of what we eat contributes to our overall health.

Video from KarmaTube

Also, Psychology Today offers suggestions on how to eat more mindfully:

  •  Try taking the first four sips of a cup of hot tea or coffee with full attention.
  • If you are reading and eating, try alternating these activities, not doing both at once. Read a page, then put the book down and eat a few bites, savoring the tastes, then read another page, and so on.
  • At family meals, you might ask everyone to eat in silence for the first five minutes, thinking about the many people who brought the food to your plates.
  • Try eating one meal a week mindfully, alone and in silence. Be creative. For example, could you eat lunch behind a closed office door, or even alone in our car?
    Source:  www.psychologytoday.com

Start being more mindful of what you put in your body for fuel and watch how your health thanks you.

7 thoughts on “Eat Mindfully to Achieve Better Health

  1. I’ve found that turning off the TV during meals is a great way to concentrate on my food. The fewer distractions going on around me, the more I can enjoy each bite. Great post!

  2. Pingback: A mindful little breakfasting | MindMindful

  3. Pingback: Thay at Google « Namaste Consulting Inc.

  4. Hi

    Thanks for reblogging the soulsnet post on “I think I’m getting left behind. What should I do?” I hope your readers will enjoy it. What a terrific blog you have here. Such a variety of wonderful information, all of which strikes a chord with me. I shall be visiting often. I have been learning about mindfulness for the last 18 months and it has made a real difference in my life. It has helped me to tune into myself and slow down and smell the roses, when I remember to do so!!

    May we all be peaceful and at ease.
    Corinne at soulsnet.com

      • Spread the word!!
        Getting older can be a lonely time for many. New technology can open a window on the world and limit isolation. It’s not easy, in fact for many its damned difficult, but it could be wonderful. There is a myth that old people can’t pick up new things. That’s not true but they do need a sympathetic teacher, just as the young do. Here’s to more sympathetic teachers!!

        Warm regards
        Corinne

Leave a Reply

